• Evan Bremer earns Eagle Scout award

    Evan Bremer earned the Boy Scouts of America Eagle Scout Award June 26. Two out of 100 scouts are able to achieve this honor which is the highest honor one can attain in the Boy Scouts of America. Evan crossed over into Boy Scout Troop 375 from Farmersville Cub Scout Pack 372.The troop is chartered by Trinity United Methodist Church of Christ in Mount Vernon.

  • Price receives American Legion Firefighter of the Year Award

    By Rachel Christian

    Local resident Jay Price received the Martin A Werner State Firefighter of the Year Award from the American Legion on July 9, during the group’s annual convention in Indianapolis.

    To win at the state level, participants must first win at the local and district levels. With 12 districts and over 200 local posts in Indiana, Price competed against numerous other firefighters for the award. He is the first firefighter from Posey County to receive this award from the American Legion.

  • Local student attends Medical Leaders conference

    An incoming sophomore at Mount Vernon High School represented the area as a delegate at the Congress of Future Medical Leaders conference in Lovett, Massachusetts June 25 to 27.

    Maria Turner received a letter of recognition from Congressman Larry Bucshon for this achievement. The Congress of Future Medical Leaders is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields.

  • Bundy receives distinguished service award

    The Dakota State University Athletic Department recognized Keith Bundy as this year’s recipient for the Terry Ryan Distinguished Service Award on Saturday evening.  He will be recognized during halftime of the Trojan men’s basketball game versus Valley City State (N.D.) at  the  DSU Fieldhouse.
    Bundy serves as the Assistant Dean for Student Development and has been a part of the DSU community since 2000.  In addition, he is the ADA Coordinator at Dakota State University.  He is also the pastor of First Baptist Church in Madison.

  • Locals recognized for making dean's lists

    Champlain College
    Jacob Mumford, resident of Griffin, has been named to the Fall 2013 dean’s list at Champlain College in Burlington, Vt. Mumford is majoring in Game Exploration.
    Students must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to make the dean’s list.

    University of Charleston
    Nichole Perry of Poseyville was named to the Dean’s List at the University of Charleston. The Dean’s List recognizes full-time students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

  • Library director elected to statewide federation board

    Heather McNabb, director of the Poseyville Carnegie Public Library, was recently elected to the Indiana Library Federation Board as an at-large member.

  • Erkman graduates from Murray

    Alexa Erkman of Mount Vernon recently graduated summa cum laude from Murray State University, where she earned a bachelor of science degree in communication disorders. Alexa was also awarded the Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society Leadership Award and the Springer-Franklin Academic Achievement Award. She will begin graduate school in the fall at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale for a Master of Science in speech-language pathology.

  • Food drive results help community

    About 4,300 pounds of food were collected during the National Association of Letter Carriers’ Food Drive last Saturday in Mount Vernon. All food items will remain in the Mount Vernon area for distribution, and the items collected in this food drive will make a big difference here in Mount Vernon for the next few months.
    Postal employees wish to thank the rural and city letter carriers and the volunteers from the United Way of Posey County that helped collect the food, the volunteers at the food pantry, and the community for their generous donations.

  • Roeder graduates from Butler

    Sally Roeder of Mount Vernon was among 717 graduates to receive diplomas from Butler University during Spring 2013 Commencement on May 11, earning a degree in Health Sciences.
    Best-selling author John Green addressed the graduates, telling them that their "hero's journey" would be one of moving "from strength to weakness."

  • Dean’s List

    Indiana State University
    Indiana State University has announced its dean’s list for the 2013 spring semester.
    Students from Posey County who were recognized for academic achievement include Cody Martin and Joseph Wagner, both of Mount Vernon; and Sara Trembczynski of New Harmony.
    To be eligible for the dean’s list at Indiana State, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

    University of Evansville